CHAPTER 202-D

CREDIT CARD AND DEBIT CARD RECEIPTS

§1149. Electronically printed credit card and debit card receipts

1. Electronically printed receipts. Except as provided in this section, a person, firm, partnership, association, corporation or limited liability company that accepts credit cards or debit cards for the transaction of business may not print more than the last 5 digits of the credit card or debit card account number or the expiration date of the credit card or debit card on a receipt provided to a cardholder at the point of sale of the transaction.

[PL 2003, c. 586, §1 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 586, §3 (AFF).]

- **2. Exception.** This section applies only to receipts that are electronically printed and does not apply to transactions in which the sole means of recording the cardholder's credit card or debit card account number is by handwriting or by an imprint or copy of the credit card or debit card. [PL 2001, c. 527, §1 (NEW).]
- **3. Forfeiture; civil penalty.** A person, firm, partnership, association, corporation or limited liability company that violates this section is subject to a forfeiture not to exceed \$250 for the first violation and a civil penalty of \$1,000 for each subsequent violation. A forfeiture or civil penalty may not be assessed for a violation of this section if the person, firm, partnership, association, corporation or limited liability company demonstrates by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant has adopted procedures reasonably designed to avoid errors and that the violation was unintentional and resulted from a bona fide error.

[PL 2001, c. 527, §1 (NEW).]

3-A. Absolved from forfeiture and civil penalty. Until January 1, 2005, a person who violates this section is absolved from civil prosecution or forfeitures and civil penalties associated with any such violation occurring before that date.

[PL 2003, c. 586, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 586, §3 (AFF).]

4. Effective date. This section takes effect January 1, 2004.

[PL 2001, c. 527, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 527, §1 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 586, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 586, §3 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.