CHAPTER 21

LOST GOODS

§1051. Duty of finder of money or goods worth \$3 or more

Whoever finds lost money or goods of the value of \$3 or more shall, if the owner is unknown, within 7 days give notice thereof in writing to the clerk of the town where the money or goods are found and post a notification thereof in some public place in said town. If the value is \$10 or more, the finder, in addition to the notice to the town clerk and the notification to be posted, shall, within one month after finding, publish a notice thereof in some newspaper published in the town, if any, otherwise in some newspaper published in the county.

§1052. Taking up stray beasts; notice

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §7 (RP).

§1053. Appraisal if value \$10 or more

A finder of lost goods of the value of \$10 or more shall, within 2 months after finding and before using the lost goods to the disadvantage of the owner, procure a warrant from the town clerk or a notary public, directed to 2 persons appointed by the clerk or notary, not interested except as inhabitants of the town, returnable at the clerk's office within 7 days from the date of the warrant, to appraise the goods under oath. [PL 2019, c. 437, §8 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 227, §2 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 437, §8 (AMD).

§1054. Restitution to appearing owner; money or goods

If the owner of lost money or goods appears within 6 months after notice to the town clerk under section 1051 is made by the finder and gives reasonable evidence of ownership to the finder, the owner must have restitution or the value of the lost money or goods, paying all necessary charges and reasonable compensation to the finder for keeping, to be adjudged by the district court if the owner and finder cannot agree. [PL 2019, c. 437, §9 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 227, §3 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 437, §9 (AMD).

§1055. – strays

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §10 (RP).

§1056. Finder's rights when no owner appears

If no owner appears within 6 months, such money or lost goods shall belong to the finder by paying 1/2 their value after deducting all necessary charges to the treasurer of said town; but if he neglects to pay it on demand, it may be recovered in an action brought by said treasurer in the name of the town.

§1057. Sale of strays when no owner appears

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §11 (RP).

§1058. Failure to give notice; penalty

If the finder of lost money or goods of the value of \$3 or more neglects to give notice to the town clerk and to cause the lost money or goods to be advertised as provided under section 1051, the finder forfeits to the owner the full value of the lost money or goods unless the finder delivers or accounts for the lost money or goods to the owner, in which case the finder must forfeit not more than \$20, 1/2 to the town and 1/2 to the prosecutor. [PL 2019, c. 437, §12 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §12 (AMD).

§1059. Recovery of strays without paying charges; penalty

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §13 (RP).

§1060. Damages by animals; remedy; lien

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §13 (RP).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.