
Maine Revised Statutes

Title 9-A: MAINE CONSUMER CREDIT CODE

Article :

§1-111. RECORD RETENTION
Every person subject to this Act shall maintain records of all consumer credit transactions in conformity

with generally accepted accounting principles and practices or in a manner that will enable the administrator
to determine whether that person or his assignee is complying with the provisions of this Act. The records
need not be kept in the place of business where the transaction was entered into, if the administrator is given
free access to the records, wherever located. All records pertaining to consumer credit transactions shall be
retained for at least 2 years after making the final entry on the account involved, except that in the case of
open-end credit, the 2 years shall be measured from the date of each account entry. [1987, c. 129, §3
(AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY
1985, c. 336, §1 (NEW).  1987, c. 129, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to
change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes
Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated
10.13.2016   |  1


