§4319. Liability of relatives for support

- 1. Relatives liable. A parent of a child under 25 years of age and a spouse living in or owning property in the State shall support their children or husband or wife in proportion to their respective ability. Liability for burial expenses is governed by section 4313. [PL 1993, c. 410, Pt. AAA, §12 (AMD).]
- 2. Rental payments to relatives. A municipality or the State may decide not to make payments for rental assistance on behalf of an otherwise eligible individual when the rental payments would be made to a parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent's sibling or any of their children, unless the municipality finds that the rental arrangement has existed for 3 months prior to the application for assistance and is necessary to provide the relative with basic necessities.

 [PL 1993, c. 410, Pt. AAA, §12 (AMD).]
- **3.** Recovery of assistance provided. A municipality or the State, after providing general assistance to a dependent of a legally responsible parent or to a person's spouse who is financially capable of providing support, may then seek reimbursement or relief for that support by initiating a complaint to the Superior Court or District Court, including by small claims action, located in the division or county where the legally responsible parent or spouse resides. The court may cause the legally responsible parent or spouse to be summoned and upon hearing or default may assess and apportion a reasonable sum upon those who are found to be of sufficient ability for the support of the eligible person and shall issue a writ of execution. The assessment may not be made to pay any expense for relief provided more than 12 months before the complaint was filed. Any action brought under this section is governed by the Maine Rules of Civil Procedure. The court may, from time to time, make any further order on complaint of an interested party and, after notice is given, alter the assessment or apportionment.

[PL 1993, c. 410, Pt. AAA, §12 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 577, §1 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 701, §5 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 370 (RPR). PL 1991, c. 622, §M28 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 410, §AAA12 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.