§704. Employment of minors

1. Employees under 17 years of age. A licensee for the sale of liquor to be consumed on licensed premises may not employ a person under 17 years of age in the serving or selling of liquor on the premises where the liquor is sold. A licensee who violates this subsection is subject to the penalties in section 803.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. P, §3 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

1-A. (REALLOCATED FROM T. 28-A, §704, sub-§2) Employees between 17 and 21 years of age. An employee who is at least 17 years of age but less than 21 years of age may serve or sell liquor only in the presence of an employee who is at least 21 years of age and is in a supervisory capacity.

A. A licensee whose employee violates this subsection is subject to the penalties in section 803. [RR 2003, c. 1, §26 (RAL); RR 2003, c. 1, §27 (AFF).]

B. An employee who violates this subsection is subject to the penalties in section 803. [RR 2003,
c. 1, §26 (RAL); RR 2003, c. 1, §27 (AFF).]

[RR 2003, c. 1, §26 (RAL); RR 2003, c. 1, §27 (AFF).]

2. Penalty.

[PL 1993, c. 266, §8 (RP).]

2. (REALLOCATED TO T. 28-A, §704, sub-§1-A) Employees between 17 and 21 years of age.

[RR 2003, c. 1, §26 (RAL); RR 2003, c. 1, §27 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. P, §3 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 45, §A4 (NEW). PL 1987, c. 342, §35 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 266, §§7,8 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 373, §67 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §P3 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). RR 2003, c. 1, §26 (COR). RR 2003, c. 1, §27 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.