§1044-A. Licensing requirements

For the purpose of providing revenues to defray the expense of the inspection and analysis prescribed in this subchapter, the commissioner shall license seed labelers. The commissioner shall prescribe the license application form. License fees established under this subchapter may be collected on other than an annual basis if the license required in this section is issued in conjunction with a nursery operator's license issued under section 2171. [PL 1999, c. 84, §2 (AMD).]

1. Retail dealer's license.

[PL 1995, c. 435, §2 (RP); PL 1995, c. 435, §3 (AFF).]

2. Seed labeling license. A person, firm or corporation may not label agricultural, vegetable and tree and shrub seeds, except seed potatoes, for planting purposes for distribution or sale in this State without having obtained a seed labeling license. The seed labeling licensee is responsible for the accuracy of the seed contents of all packages, boxes and bags of seeds labeled by the licensee. The fee for a seed labeling license is \$50 annually. A license may be issued for a one-year, 2-year or 3-year period. Licenses for a period in excess of one year may only be issued with the agreement of or at the request of the applicant. The fee for a 2-year license is 2 times the annual fee. The fee for a 3-year license is 3 times the annual fee.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. EEE, §2 (AMD).]

3. Disposition of fees. Fees received for licenses established under this section shall be paid to the Treasurer of State for deposit in the General Fund.

[PL 1979, c. 672, Pt. A, §25 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 672, §A25 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 435, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 435, §3 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 454, §3 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 84, §2 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 12, §EEE2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.