## STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION SENATE ADVANCED JOURNAL AND CALENDAR

Thursday, April 12, 2018

SUPPLEMENT NO. 3

## PAPERS FROM THE HOUSE

## **Joint Orders**

Expressions of Legislative Sentiment recognizing:

(1-1) Katelyn "Kit-Kat" Carlow, of Peru, who has been awarded a Certificate of Appreciation by the Department of Maine, District 5 American Legion and the Peru American Legion Post 199 for her project, "Kit-Kat's Flowers for Veterans," placing flowers on the graves of veterans. We extend to Ms. Carlow our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1121

- (1-2) Neil Nolette, of Dixfield, a student at Dirigo High School, who is a recipient of a Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award for demonstrating dependability, leadership, service and patriotism. We extend to Neil our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 1122
- (1-3) Kathy and Jeff Corey, of Winslow, proprietors of Day's Jewelers, who have received the Distinguished Community Service Award from the Mid-Maine Chamber of Commerce. We extend to them our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1123

(1-4) Caitlin Grenier, of Winslow, who has been named the Maine Youth of the Year 2018 by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Waterville. We extend to Caitlin our congratulations and best wishes:

HLS 1124

- (1-5) Melanie Clark, of Anson, a senior at Carrabec High School, who is a recipient of a 2018 Principal's Award for outstanding academic achievement and citizenship, sponsored by the Maine Principals' Association. We extend to Melanie our congratulations and best wishes;

  HLS 1126
- (1-6) Gloria Bila, of Westbrook, who has been named the Maine Youth of the Year 2018 by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Southern Maine Portland Clubhouse. We extend to Gloria our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1127

(1-7) Kaley Norsworthy, of Fort Fairfield, a senior at Fort Fairfield Middle High School, who is a recipient of a 2018 Principal's Award for outstanding academic achievement and citizenship, sponsored by the Maine Principals' Association. We extend to Kaley our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1128

(1-8) Grace Reynolds, of Fort Fairfield, who has earned the distinction of being named Salutatorian of the 2018 graduating class of Fort Fairfield Middle High School. We extend to Grace our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1129

(1-9) Hunter St. Pierre, of Fort Fairfield, who has earned the distinction of being named Valedictorian of the 2018 graduating class of Fort Fairfield Middle High School. We extend to Hunter our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1130

(1-10) Colleen Jones, of Skowhegan, who has been named Volunteer of the Year by Hospice Volunteers of Somerset County for her compassion, patience, understanding and kindness and her willingness to serve in any volunteer capacity. We extend to Ms. Jones our congratulations and appreciation for her service;

HLS 1131

(1-11) Samuel Boswell, of South Portland, who has been named the Maine Youth of the Year 2018 by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Southern Maine South Portland Clubhouse. We extend to Samuel our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1132

(1-12) Hannah Dawkins, of Gray, a senior at Gray-New Gloucester High School, who is a recipient of a 2018 Principal's Award for outstanding academic achievement and citizenship, sponsored by the Maine Principals' Association. We extend to Hannah our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1133

(1-13) the Monmouth Academy Academic Decathlon Team, of Monmouth, which won the State Championship. Members of the team include Dylan Goff, who won 2 gold medals and 3 silver medals; Rhayna Poulin, who won 2 silver medals; Kaitlin Hunt; Christopher Dumont, who won 4 silver medals; Natalie Grandahl, who won a gold medal and a silver medal; Edmund Zuis, who won a silver medal; Jaryd Bates, who won 7 gold medals and 2 silver medals; Gerard Boulet, who won a gold medal and 4 silver medals; Amber Currie, who won 2 silver medals; Alicen Burnham; Jessica Clavet; Jocelyn Coffin; Joseph Crocker; Chloe Dwinal; Kyle Gunnells; Evan Hasenfus; Campbell Houston; Delaney Houston; Delaney Willey; Leonardo Wilson; Michael Dolan; Hayden Luce; Grace Vierling; and Taylor Whalen. The team is coached by Cathy Foyt and Scott Foyt. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 1135

(1-14) the Monmouth Academy Girls Varsity Basketball Team, of Monmouth, which won the Class C State Championship. This is the second time in two years the team has won the championship. Members of the team include Tia Day, Emma Vierling, Hannah Anderson, Abbey Allen, Haylee Langlois, Julia Johnson, Abby Ferland, Kaeti Butterfield, Destiny Clough, Kayla Brooks, Jordyn Gowell, Katie Harris, Audrey Fletcher and Libby Clement; assistant coaches Dennis Grover, Ray Convery and Ed Spencer; and head coach Scott Wing. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1136

(1-15) Jacob Dubay, of Old Town, a senior at Old Town High School and a player on the Old Town-Orono Class B State Championship Boys Hockey Team, who was named the Player of the Year in Class B North Hockey. We extend to Jacob our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1137

(1-16) the Old Town-Orono Boys Hockey Team, of Old Town and Orono, which won the Class B State Championship. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 1138

(1-17) the Orono High School Girls Nordic Ski Team, of Orono, which won the Class C State Championship. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 1139

(1-18) J.J. Astumian, of Orono, who finished in first place at the 2018 Maine State Scholastic Individual Chess Championships. We congratulate J.J. on his achievement and send him our best wishes;

HLS 1140

(1-19) Ben Amar, of Orono, who tied for second place at the 2018 Maine State Scholastic Individual Chess Championships. We congratulate Ben on his achievement and send him our best wishes;

HLS 1141

(1-20) the Orono High School Show Choir, of Orono, which won the 2018 Division 2 State Championship. We extend to all the members of the choir our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 1142

Come from the House, **READ** and **PASSED**.