## MAINE PROBATE AND TRUST LAW ADVISORY COMMISSION Joint Standing Committee on Judiciary January 26, 2021

The Probate and Trust Law Advisory Commission ("PATLAC") was created in 2009 under 18-A (now 18-C) M.R.S. § 1-801.

**The statutory charge:** Generally to review Titles 18-C (the Probate Code) and 18-B (the Trust Code) and recommend any changes that the Commission considers advisable. The authority includes examining "any other aspects of the State's probate and trust laws, including substantive, procedural and administrative matters that the commission considers relevant."

## **Current members:**

Judge William Avantaggio, Lincoln County Probate Court David J. Backer, Esq., Chair Barbara Carlin, Esq. (Governor's appointee) Cody Hopkins, AAG (Attorney General's designee) Jeffrey W. Jones, Esq. (Ellsworth) Justin LeBlanc, Esq., Vice-Chair Marianna Putnam Liddell, Esq. Justice Robert Murray (Maine Superior Court) Patricia A. Nelson-Reade, Esq. Judge Robert Washburn, Somerset County Probate Court

## Submissions for the current legislative session:

- Maine Uniform Trust Decanting Act (addition to Title 18-B)
- Five amendments to the Maine Uniform Probate Code (Title 18-C)