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State Spirits Tax (a.k.a. consumer’s tax). The 

amount of this tax must be sufficient to cover: * 

• Spirits-related administrative expenses of 

BABLO, including contract fees paid to Pine 

State Spirits; 

• Funding the Liquor Operation Revenue Fund in 

the Maine Municipal Bond Bank at a level equal 

to the funding amount in the previous year; and  

• Premium Tax of $1.25/proof gallon (funding for 

Department of Health and Human Services for 

substance use disorder prevention and treatment). 

Consumer  

• When purchasing spirits from an agency liquor store 

for off-premises consumption at the retail price 

established by the State Liquor and Lottery 

Commission. * 

On-premises retailer 

• When purchasing spirits from a Maine reselling agent 

at the retail price established by the State Liquor and 

Lottery Commission. * 

*See handout on Spirits Pricing in Maine 

28-A M.R.S.  

§1651.  

 

See also 

§1703 

(premium tax). 

Wine excise tax 

 

Sparkling wine $1.24/gallon 

Fortified wine $1.24/gallon 

Hard cider 35ȼ/gallon 

Other wine 60ȼ/gallon 
 

Maine manufacturer (winery / small winery) 

• When selling wine to a wholesale licensee, who will 

resell the wine to Maine retailers. 

• When offering samples at the manufacturing facility 

or at a taste-testing festival. 

Wholesale licensee 

• When importing wine into Maine. 

• When offering samples at a taste-testing festival. 

Wine direct shipper 

• When selling and shipping wine directly to a 

consumer in Maine. 

Wine auction permittee 

• When selling privately held wine at auction. 

28-A M.R.S. 

§1652(1-A), 

(2). 1 

 

 

                                                      
1 See also §1355-A(2)(A) (excise tax on samples offered at the winery or small winery); §1052-D(7)(I, J) (excise tax for wine at taste-testing festivals); 

§1404(1)(E) and §1405(3) (wholesale licensee excise tax payments); §1403-A(9) (wine direct shipper); §1209(5) (wine auction permittee). 

https://www.ttb.gov/images/forms_tutorials/f511040/faq_instructions.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1651.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1703.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1652.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1652.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1355-A.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1052-D.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1404.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1405.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1403-A.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1209.html
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Malt liquor excise tax 

 

35ȼ/gallon 

 

Maine manufacturer (brewery / small brewery) 

• When selling malt liquor to a wholesale licensee, who 

will resell the malt liquor to Maine retailers. 

• When offering samples at the manufacturing facility 

or at a taste-testing festival. 

Wholesale licensee 

• When importing malt liquor into Maine. 

• When offering samples at a taste-testing festival. 

28-A M.R.S. 

§1652(1). 2 

Low-alcohol spirits products excise tax 

 

$1.24/gallon 

 

 
See also additional excise tax below 

Maine manufacturer 

• When selling low-alcohol spirits products to a 

wholesale licensee, who will resell the low-alcohol 

spirits products to Maine retailers. 

• When offering samples at the manufacturing facility. 

Wholesale licensee 

• When importing low-alcohol spirits products into 

Maine. 

28-A M.R.S.  

§1652(1-A). 3 

Low-alcohol spirits products tax 

 

30ȼ/gallon 

Maine or out-of-state manufacturer 

• When selling low-alcohol spirits products to a 

wholesale licensee, who will resell the low-alcohol 

spirits products to Maine retailers.   

28-A M.R.S. 

§1365. 

                                                      
2 See also §1355-A(2)(A) (excise tax on samples offered at the brewery or small brewery); §1052-D(7)(I, J) (excise tax for malt liquor at taste-testing festivals); 

§1404(1)(E) and §1405(3) (wholesale licensee excise tax payments). 

3 See also §1355-A(2)(A) (excise tax on samples offered at the manufacturing facility); §1404(1)(E) and §1405(3) (wholesale licensee excise tax payments). 

http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1652.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1652.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1365.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1355-A.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1052-D.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1404.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1405.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1355-A.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1404.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1405.html
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Liquor Sales Tax 

 

8% of the value of the liquor sold 

for on-premises consumption 

 

On-premises retailer / Consumer 

• When liquor is sold to consumers for on-premises 

consumption by an on-premises retailer (for example, 

restaurant or a bowling center), including a Maine 

manufacturer who sells samples of its products at its 

manufacturing facility. 

 

36 M.R.S.  

§1811(D)(2).4 

Sales Tax on “tangible personal property” 

 

5.5% of the value of the liquor sold 

for off-premises consumption 

Off-premises retailer / Consumer 

• When liquor is sold to consumers for off-premises 

consumption by an off-premises retailer (for example, 

a grocery store), including a Maine manufacturer who 

sells its products directly to consumers for off-

premises consumption. 

Wine direct shipper / Consumer 

• When wine is sold and shipped directly to a consumer 

in Maine. 

36 M.R.S.  

§1811(D). 

 

                                                      
4 See also §1355-A(2)(F) (sales tax applies to samples sold by a Maine manufacturer at its manufacturing facility). 

http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/36/title36sec1811.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/36/title36sec1811.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/28-A/title28-Asec1355-A.html

