§6602. Surf clam boat license

- 1. License required. A person may not use a boat for dragging for the harvesting of surf clams unless that boat carries a current surf clam boat license issued by the commissioner. [PL 2007, c. 54, §2 (NEW).]
- 2. Licensed activity. A surf clam boat license issued under this section may be used for harvesting surf clams. The holder of a surf clam boat license may also possess or transport surf clams within state limits or sell surf clams the holder has taken to a wholesale seafood license holder certified under section 6856 or an enhanced retail certificate holder under section 6852, subsection 2-A. The license also authorizes the captain and crew members aboard the licensed boat when engaged in harvesting surf clams to undertake these activities.

[PL 2011, c. 598, §27 (AMD).]

3. Eligibility. A surf clam boat license may be issued only to an individual who is a resident of this State.

[PL 2007, c. 54, §2 (NEW).]

4. Exception. In any one day, a person may take or possess not more than 3 bushels of surf clams for personal use without a surf clam boat license.

[PL 2007, c. 54, §2 (NEW).]

5. Fee. The fee for a surf clam boat license is \$265.

[PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §15 (AMD).]

6. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2007, c. 54, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2007, c. 54, §2 (NEW). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §15 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 217, §2 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 598, §27 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.