## §555. Copy of writ for defendant on request; neglect

Every officer, plaintiff or his attorney, having in his possession a writ on which an attachment has been made, shall make and deliver to the debtor or his attorney, if requested and the legal fee tendered, an attested copy thereof, and if he unreasonably refuses or neglects to do so for 24 hours, he forfeits \$5 and \$5 additional for every subsequent 24 hours that he so refuses or neglects. Such forfeit shall be recovered by the debtor to his own use, in a civil action.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.