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§2739.  Lapse of policy, advance notice; limitation of action
An individual policy of health insurance issued or delivered in this State, except a policy which by its terms is renewable or continuable with the insurer's consent, or except a policy the premiums for which are payable monthly or at shorter intervals, may not terminate or lapse for nonpayment of any premium until the expiration of 3 months from the due date of such premium, unless the insurer, within not less than 10 nor more than 45 days prior to such due date, has mailed, postage prepaid, duly addressed to the insured at the insured's last address shown by the insurer's records, a notice showing the amount of such premium and its due date. If such a notice is not so sent, the insured may pay the premium in default at any time within such period of 3 months. The affidavit of any officer, clerk or agent of the insurer, or of any other person authorized to mail such notice, that the notice required by this section has been duly mailed by the insurer in the manner required is prima facie evidence that such notice was duly given. An action may not be maintained on any policy to which this section applies and that has lapsed for nonpayment of any premium unless such action is commenced within 2 years from the due date of such premium.  [RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §241 (COR).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §241 (COR). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§2739. Lapse of policy, advance notice; limitation of action
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§2739. Lapse of policy, advance notice; limitation of action
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




