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§4923.  Excise tax imposed
Beginning on the first day of the calendar month in which adult use cannabis may be sold in the State by a cultivation facility under Title 28‑B, chapter 1, an excise tax on adult use cannabis is imposed in accordance with this chapter.  [PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
1.  Excise tax on cannabis flower.   A cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of $335 per pound or fraction thereof of cannabis flower sold to other licensees in the State.
[PL 2021, c. 323, §3 (AMD); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
2.  Excise tax on cannabis trim.   A cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of $94 per pound or fraction thereof of cannabis trim sold to other licensees in the State.
[PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
3.  Excise tax on immature cannabis plants and seedlings.   A cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of $1.50 per immature cannabis plant or seedling sold to other licensees in the State.
[PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
3-A.  Excise tax on mature cannabis plants.  Beginning July 1, 2021, a cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of $35 per mature cannabis plant sold to other licensees in the State.
[PL 2021, c. 323, §4 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
4.  Excise tax on cannabis seeds.   A cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of 30¢ per cannabis seed sold to other licensees in the State.
[PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
5.  Excise tax on purchases from registered caregivers and registered dispensaries.   A cultivation facility licensee authorized pursuant to Title 28‑B to purchase cannabis plants and cannabis seeds from registered caregivers and registered dispensaries that transacts such a purchase shall pay to the assessor the excise taxes that would have been imposed under subsections 1 to 4 on the sale of the cannabis plants and cannabis seeds if the cannabis plants and cannabis seeds had been sold by a cultivation facility licensee to another licensee.
[PL 2023, c. 679, Pt. C, §13 (AMD).]
6.  Multiple licenses.   When a cultivation facility licensee also holds a license to operate another cannabis establishment, the taxes imposed by subsections 1 to 4 apply to any transfer of cannabis from the cultivation facility to the other cannabis establishment or, if no such transfer is made, to any activity undertaken pursuant to Title 28‑B, section 501, subsection 2 or 4 with regard to cannabis cultivated by the cultivation facility.
[PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW); PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 2019, c. 231, Pt. B, §7 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 323, §§3, 4 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 669, §5 (REV). PL 2023, c. 679, Pt. C, §13 (AMD). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§4923. Excise tax imposed
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§4923. Excise tax imposed
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




