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§611.  Equipment tax
Machinery and other personal property brought into this State, after April 1st and prior to December 31st by any person upon whom no personal property tax was assessed on April 1st in this State, must be taxed as other personal property in the municipality in which it is used for the first time in this State.  [PL 2023, c. 523, Pt. A, §6 (AMD).]
When the assessors are informed by the owner or otherwise of the presence within the municipality of personal property governed by this section, the assessors shall give notice in writing to the owner to furnish to the assessors a true and perfect list of such personal property within 15 days from the receipt of that notice and, except as otherwise provided in this section, section 706‑A is applicable to this section.  [PL 2023, c. 523, Pt. A, §6 (AMD).]
The assessors shall assess a tax upon any  personal property governed by this section in accordance with other property assessed for the same tax year, except that, if the tax is paid within 2 months of assessment, interest from the due date of taxes for the tax year involved does not apply.  [PL 2023, c. 523, Pt. A, §6 (AMD).]
Except as otherwise provided in this section, the collection of taxes on personal property governed by this section must be in accordance with this chapter.  [PL 2023, c. 523, Pt. A, §6 (AMD).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1987, c. 772, §13 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 367, §3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 523, Pt. A, §6 (AMD). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§611. Equipment tax
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§611. Equipment tax
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




