## §2989. Civil action by the commission

- 1. Civil penalties. Any dealer or retail store which violates section 2983 shall be subject to the following civil penalties, to be collected by the commission in a civil action:
  - A. For the first violation, a civil penalty not to exceed \$1,000; and [PL 1983, c. 484, §2 (NEW).]
  - B. For each subsequent violation, a civil penalty not to exceed \$2,000. [PL 1983, c. 484, §2 (NEW).]

All penalties collected by the commission shall be paid to the Treasurer of State for deposit to the General Fund.

[PL 1983, c. 484, §2 (NEW).]

**2. Injunction.** In lieu of or in addition to the collection of civil penalties under subsection 1, the commission may bring a civil action in the Superior Court to prevent, restrain or enjoin a violation of section 2983. If in that action a violation or threatened violation of section 2983 shall be established, the court may enjoin and restrain or otherwise prohibit the violation or threatened violation. In the action it shall not be necessary that actual damages to any person be alleged or proved.

[PL 1983, c. 484, §2 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 1983, c. 484, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.