§3919-C. Animal held pending court decision

When an animal shelter holds an animal at the request or with the approval of the person who seized the animal pending an investigation or disposition by the court of an alleged violation of chapter 739 or Title 17, chapter 42, the shelter is entitled to receive from the person who seized the animal monetary compensation in accordance with this section for the period for which food and shelter are furnished to the animal. For the purposes of this section, "person who seized the animal" includes a humane agent, law enforcement or an animal control officer permitted by law to obtain a search warrant or to seize animals ex parte. [PL 2015, c. 223, §6 (AMD).]

- 1. Compensation for dogs and cats. Compensation for a dog or cat is \$15 a day. Compensation for a female cat or dog with a litter that has not been weaned is \$18 a day. [PL 2021, c. 696, §3 (AMD).]
- **2. Equines.** Compensation for an equine is \$20 a day. [PL 2021, c. 696, §4 (AMD).]
- **3. Livestock.** Except for equines, fowl and rabbits, compensation for a livestock animal is between \$5 and \$20 a day as determined by the department based on the size of the animal. [PL 2021, c. 696, §5 (AMD).]
- **4. Other animals.** Compensation for a rabbit is \$2 a day. Compensation for a bird, including poultry, is \$1 a day. Compensation for other animals is as determined by the department. [PL 2007, c. 439, §11 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 405, §9 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 439, §11 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 223, §6 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 696, §§3-5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.