MRS Title 12, §11106. ELIGIBILITY FOR ARCHERY HUNTING LICENSE

§11106. Eligibility for archery hunting license

1. Age requirement. A person is eligible to obtain an archery hunting license as provided in this
section.

A. A resident or nonresident 16 years of age or older who has satisfied the requirements of
subsection 2 or holds an apprenticeship hunter license, or who is exempt under subsection 3, may
obtain an archery hunting license to hunt with archery equipment in accordance with section 10952
from the commissioner or the commissioner's authorized agent. [PL 2023, c. 239, §14 (AMD).]

B. A resident or nonresident under 16 years of age may hunt with archery equipment if that person
holds a valid junior hunting license. [PL 2023, c. 239, §14 (AMD).]

Beginning January 1, 2016, for those persons who obtain a junior hunting license and turn 16 years of
age during the same calendar year, the archery hunting license is included even after the person has
turned 16 years of age as long as that person is hunting on that person's valid junior hunting license and
not longer than the remainder of the calendar year for which the license is issued.

[PL 2023, c. 239, §14 (AMD)]

2. Archery hunter education requirements. Except as provided in paragraph A and subsection
3, a person who applies for an archery hunting license other than a junior hunting license or an
apprenticeship hunter license must submit proof of having successfully completed an archery hunter
education course as described in section 10108 or an equivalent archery hunter education course or
satisfactory evidence of having previously held a valid adult archery hunting license issued specifically
for the purpose of hunting with bow and arrow in this State or any other state, province or country in
any year after 1979 or satisfactory evidence of previously holding a crossbow permit issued in this State
as of December 31, 2023.

When proof or evidence cannot be otherwise provided, the applicant may substitute a signed affidavit
that the applicant has previously held the required adult archery hunting license or has successfully
completed the required archery hunter education course.

A. A person who is an enrolled member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, the
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or the Mi'kmaq Nation who presents certification from the
respective reservation governor or the Mi'kmaq Nation Tribal Council stating that the person is an
enrolled member of a federally recognized nation, band or tribe listed in this paragraph is exempt
from the requirements of this subsection. [PL 2023, c. 239, §15 (AMD).]

[PL 2023, c. 239, §15 (AMD).]

3. Archery hunter education course exemption for members of armed forces domiciled in
State. A member of the Armed Forces of the United States on active duty who is permanently stationed
outside of the United States and home on leave is exempt from archery hunter education course
requirements under subsection 2 if that member shows proof at the time of application for the license
that that member's home state of record, as recorded in that person's military service records, is Maine.
A person who no longer meets the conditions for an exemption under this subsection must satisfy the

requirements of subsection 2.
[PL 2013, c. 139, §2 (NEW).]
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The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

2 | §11106. Eligibility for archery hunting license o?egfrza(;gg




