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§12955.  Special hide dealer's license
1.  License required.  A person may not engage in an activity for which a special hide dealer's license may be issued under subsection 2 without a valid special hide dealer's license unless the person holds a valid license issued under section 12954.
Each day a person violates this subsection, that person commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of $50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee must be imposed.
[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
2.  Issuance.  The commissioner may issue a special hide dealer's license to any person who maintains a place of business for the butchering of wild animals within this State.  The special hide dealer's license permits a holder to commercially sell or barter the heads or untanned hides of deer, moose or bear that are butchered in the license holder's place of business.
[PL 2021, c. 54, §18 (AMD).]
3.  Expiration.  All licenses issued under this section are valid for a period of one year commencing January 1st and ending December 31st.
[PL 2021, c. 54, §19 (AMD).]
4.  Fee.  The annual fee for a special hide dealer's license is $12.
[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §37 (AMD).]
4-A.  Record-keeping requirements.  The following provisions apply to the keeping and filing of records.
A.  A licensee shall:
(1)  Keep a true and complete record, in such form as is required by the commissioner, of all hides bartered or sold; and
(2)  Retain records required under this subsection for at least 3 years.  [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §351 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
B.  The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
(1)  A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500 may be adjudged.
(2)  A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime.
Each day a person violates this subsection is a separate offense.  [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §351 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §351 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
5.  Record inspection.  Records retained under subsection 4‑A must be open for inspection by the commissioner or the commissioner's agent.
[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §352 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
6.  License violation. 
[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §353 (RP); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§B351-353 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III37 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 477, §24 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 54, §§18, 19 (AMD). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§12955. Special hide dealer's license
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§12955. Special hide dealer's license
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




