§13060-A. Temporary registration certificate

1. Twenty-day certificate. The commissioner may issue temporary registration certificates to a registered dealer, who may, upon the sale or exchange of a boat, issue a temporary registration certificate to a new owner in order to allow the new owner to operate the boat for a period of 20 consecutive days after the date of sale in lieu of a permanent number as required by this chapter. The fee for each temporary registration certificate is \$1.

[PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).]

2. Penalty. A person who operates a boat with an expired temporary registration certificate commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$250 may be adjudged. [PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.