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MRS Title 17-A, §302. CRIMINAL RESTRAINT

§302.  Criminal restraint
1.   A person is guilty of criminal restraint if:
A.  Knowing the actor has no legal right to do so, the actor intentionally or knowingly takes, retains or entices another person who:
(1)  Is less than 14 years of age.  Violation of this subparagraph is a Class D crime;
(2)  Is incompetent.  Violation  of this subparagraph is a Class D crime;
(3)  Is either 14, 15 or 16 years of age from the custody of the other person's parent, guardian or other lawful custodian, with the intent to hold the other person permanently or for a prolonged period and the actor is at least 18 years of age.  Violation of this subparagraph is a Class D crime; or
(4)  Is in fact less than 8 years of age.  Violation of this subparagraph is a Class C crime; or  [PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RPR); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
B.  The actor:
(1)  Knowingly restrains another person.  Violation of this subparagraph is a Class D crime; or
(2)  Knowingly restrains another person who is in fact less than 8 years of age.  Violation of this subparagraph is a Class C crime.
As used in this paragraph, "restrain" has the same meaning as in section 301, subsection 2.  [PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RPR); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
[PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RPR); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
2.   It is a defense to a prosecution under this section that the actor is the parent of the other person taken, retained, enticed or restrained. Consent by the person taken, retained or enticed is not a defense to a prosecution under subsection 1, paragraph A.
[PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RPR); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
3.  
[PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RP); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1975, c. 499, §1 (NEW). PL 1979, c. 512, §25 (RPR). PL 1987, c. 150 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 689, §1 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 383, §27 (RPR). PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§302. Criminal restraint
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§302. Criminal restraint
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




