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§9-A.  Allegation of prior conviction when sentence enhanced
1.   Except as otherwise provided by law, a prior conviction must be specially alleged if the sentencing provision of a crime requires that a present sentence be enhanced because the person has been previously convicted of a specified crime.  For the purpose of this section, a sentence is enhanced only if the maximum sentence that may be imposed is increased or a mandatory minimum nonsuspendable sentence must be imposed.  The Supreme Judicial Court shall provide by rule the manner of alleging the prior conviction in a charging instrument and conditions for using that prior conviction at trial.
[PL 1999, c. 196, §2 (NEW).]
2.   Proof that the name and date of birth of the person charged with the current principal offense are the same as those of the person who has been convicted of the prior offense gives rise to a permissible inference under  the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule 303 that the person charged with the current principal offense is the same person as that person convicted of the prior offense.
[PL 2001, c. 383, §3 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
3.   Prior convictions may be considered for purposes of enhancing a present sentence if the date of each prior conviction precedes the commission of the offense being enhanced by no more than 10 years, except as otherwise provided by law.  More than one prior conviction may have occurred on the same day.  The date of conviction is deemed to be the date that the sentence is imposed, even though an appeal was taken.
[PL 2001, c. 383, §4 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
4.   Proof of the date stated in a complaint, information, indictment or other formal charging instrument gives rise to a permissible inference under the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule 303 that such a date is the date the offense was committed, notwithstanding the use of the words "on or about" or the equivalent.  The convictions of 2 or more prior offenses that were committed within a 3-day period are considered a single conviction for purposes of this section.
[PL 2001, c. 383, §4 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1999, c. 196, §2 (NEW). PL 2001, c. 383, §§3,4 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§9-A. Allegation of prior conviction when sentence enhanced
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§9-A. Allegation of prior conviction when sentence enhanced
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




