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§1856.  Change of ownership
1.  Evidence of compliance.  A person who has complied with section 1854, subsection 4 shall present evidence of compliance to the Secretary of State immediately after the 14-day notice period.  The Secretary of State may not issue a letter of ownership or certificate of title until at least 21 days after the date on which the person who has possession of and control over the vehicle notified the Secretary of State by complying with section 1854, subsection 1 or 1‑A and section 1854, subsection 2.
[PL 2017, c. 240, §5 (AMD).]
2.  Issuance of certificate; letter of ownership.  The Secretary of State, upon being satisfied that notice has been made to all parties with an interest in the vehicle, may issue certificates of title or letters of ownership as follows.
A.  For a vehicle not required to be titled, on presentation of sufficient evidence and payment of a $5 fee, the Secretary of State may issue a letter of ownership to the owner of the premises on which the vehicle is located.  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
B.  For vehicles subject to chapter 7, on presentation of sufficient evidence and application for certificate of title in accordance with section 654 and payment of a fee set forth in section 603, the Secretary of State may issue a certificate of title to the owner of the premises on which the vehicle is located.  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
[PL 1999, c. 137, §3 (AMD).]
If the owner or lienholder of the vehicle retrieves it and pays the towing, storage and repair charges before the Secretary of State issues a letter of ownership or certificate of title, the person holding the vehicle must immediately release it to the person paying the charges and must immediately notify the Secretary of State of the release.  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
A person who refuses to release a vehicle when reasonable charges are paid or does not notify the Secretary of State that the vehicle is no longer in the person's possession commits a Class E crime.  [PL 1999, c. 137, §3 (NEW).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1999, c. 137, §3 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 150, §6 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 46, §3 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 240, §5 (AMD). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§1856. Change of ownership
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§1856. Change of ownership
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




