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§2501.  Restricted license
1.  Eligibility.  Unless otherwise provided, the Secretary of State may issue a restricted license to a first-time OUI offender if:
A.  Two thirds of the suspension period has expired; and  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
B.  The Secretary of State has received notice that that person has completed the alcohol and drug program.  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
2.  Restrictions.  A restricted license issued pursuant to subsection 1 is subject to the following conditions and restrictions:
A.  Use is limited to travelling to a treatment program or to employment for a minimum of 90 days after the original suspension date; and  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
B.  Any other conditions or restrictions the Secretary of State considers advisable for the safety of the public and the welfare of the operator.  [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
3.  Failure to submit to test.  The Secretary of State may issue a restricted license to a person whose license was suspended for a first failure to submit to a test, if the condition of subsection 1, paragraph B is met and at least 180 days have elapsed since the date of suspension.  This subsection does not apply to a commercial driver's license, provisional license or conditional license.
[PL 1995, c. 368, Pt. AAA, §24 (AMD).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1995, c. 368, §AAA24 (AMD). 
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025
                    . The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
                
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	  |
	§2501. Restricted license
	Generated 01.07.2025


	
                                            Generated 01.07.2025
	§2501. Restricted license
	|  


image1.png




image.bmp
%M&@W




