MRS Title 32, §12526. FEES, RENEWALS AND CONTINUING EDUCATION

§12526. Fees, renewals and continuing education

1. Fees. The Director of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation within the
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation may establish by rule fees for purposes authorized
under this subchapter in amounts that are reasonable and necessary for their respective purposes, except
that the fee for any application may not exceed $200, the fee for initial and renewal licensure may not
exceed $675 annually and the fee for initial and renewal specialty certification may not exceed $50
annually. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5,
chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[PL 2003, c. 666, §9 (RPR); PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).]

2. Renewal. A license to practice naturopathic medicine and a specialty certification must be
renewed annually and be accompanied by the required renewal fee established in subsection 1.
[PL 2003, c. 666, §10 (AMD).]

3. Continuing education. When renewing a license, a naturopathic doctor must certify to
successful completion of continuing education. The minimum continuing education requirement for
license renewal is 25 hours annually, at least 7 hours of which must be in pharmacology. Naturopathic
doctors who possess a certification in naturopathic acupuncture must complete an additional 15 hours
of board-approved continuing education annually, specific to that specialty. The board may further
define and implement these continuing education requirements through rulemaking.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §10 (AMD).]
SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 671, §13 (NEW). PL 1999, c. 257, §7 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 666, §§9,10 (AMD). PL
2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §10 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated .. .
01.07.2025 §12526. Fees, renewals and continuing education | 1




