MRS Title 5, §17708. STATE POLICE

§17708. State police

1. Definition. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the term "state police
officer" means:

A. A member of the State Police; [PL 1985, c. 801, §§5, 7 (NEW).]
B. The Chief of the State Police; [PL 2001, c. 118, §2 (AMD).]

C. A member of the State Police or Chief of the State Police who is appointed Commissioner of
Public Safety; or [PL 2001, c. 118, §2 (AMD).]

D. A special agent investigator in the Bureau of State Police who is hired before June 21, 1982.
[PL 2001, c. 118, §3 (NEW).]
[PL 2001, c. 118, §§2, 3 (AMD).]

2. Before September 16, 1984. A state police officer who was first employed by that department
after July 9, 1943, but before September 16, 1984, shall contribute to the State Employee and Teacher
Retirement Program or have pick-up contributions made by the employer as follows:

A. Atarate of 7.5% of earnable compensation until the state police officer has completed 20 years
of creditable service, as required under section 17851, subsection 4, paragraph A; and [PL 1987,
c. 739, §§20, 48 (AMD).]

B. After completing the service described in paragraph A, at a rate of 6.5% of earnable
compensation for the remainder of employment as a state police officer. [PL 1987, c. 739, §§20,
48 (AMD).]

[PL 2007, c. 491, §116 (AMD).]

3. After September 15, 1984. A state police officer who was first employed by that department
after September 15, 1984 shall contribute to the State Employee and Teacher Retirement Program as
follows:

A. Atarate of 7.5% of earnable compensation until the state police officer has completed 25 years
of creditable service, as required under section 17851, subsection 4, paragraph B; and [PL 1997,
c. 740, §2 (AMD); PL 1997, c. 740, §6 (AFF).]

B. After completing the service described in paragraph A, at a rate of 6.5% of earnable
compensation for the remainder of employment as a state police officer. [PL 1997, c. 740, §2
(AMD); PL 1997, c. 740, §6 (AFF).]

[PL 2007, c. 491, §117 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 801, §§5,7 (NEW). PL 1987, c. 739, §§20,48 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 740, §§1,2
(AMD). PL 1997, c. 740, §6 (AFF). PL 2001, c. 118, §§2,3 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 491, §§116,
117 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

Generated

01.07.2025 §17708. State police | 1



MRS Title 5, §17708. STATE POLICE

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

2 | §17708. State police o?egfrza(;gg




