MRS Title 8, §227-A. REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING PERMIT

§227-A. Requirements for obtaining permit

1. Permits; requirements. A person may not conduct a display without a permit. The
commissioner shall issue a permit to possess and conduct a fireworks or flame effects display to an
applicant who:

A. Applies in writing to the commissioner for a permit at least 20 days in advance of the proposed
display; [PL 2003, c. 521, §1 (AMD).]

B. Applies on forms furnished by the department. An application for a permit must include:

(1) A certificate of public liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 to cover loss, damage
or injuries to persons or property that might result from the display; and

(2) A site plan for the proposed display depicting a diagram of the grounds or facilities at
which or in which the display will be held. The diagram must show points of discharge, fallout
areas, any buildings or other structures in proximity to the display site and the location of any
audience that may be present. Distances of and distances between the points of discharge and
any buildings or structures must be stated on the diagram; and [PL 2003, c. 521, §1 (AMD).]

C. Submits with the application fees set out in subsection 3. [PL 1999, c. 671, §6 (NEW).]
[PL 2019, c. 249, §2 (AMD).]

2. Inspection. Upon receipt of a complete application, the department shall conduct an inspection
of the proposed display site to determine the hazard posed by the display.
[PL 1999, c. 671, §6 (NEW).]

3. Fees. The fee for a permit is $30 per display and the fee for a site inspection is $111. The fee
for all inspected indoor pyrotechnic and flame effects events that occur outside of normal business
hours is $100.

[PL 2019, c. 249, §3 (AMD).]

4. Permits; violation. A person may not conduct a fireworks or flame effects display in violation
of the permit issued under subsection 1.
[PL 2019, c. 249, §4 (AMD).]

5. Penalties. The following penalties apply.

A. A person who conducts a fireworks or flame effects display without a permit commits a Class
D crime. [PL 2019, c. 249, §4 (AMD).]

B. A person who conducts a fireworks or flame effects display in violation of a permit issued under
subsection 1 commits a Class E crime. [PL 2019, c. 249, §4 (AMD).]
[PL 2019, c. 249, §4 (AMD).]

6. Strict liability. Violation of this section is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-A,
section 34, subsection 4-A.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. C, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

7. Indoor pyrotechnics and flame effects. All indoor pyrotechnic and flame effects events must
be inspected by the State Fire Marshal or the State Fire Marshal's designee.
[PL 2019, c. 249, §5 (AMD).]
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The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
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